The Department of Geography was established in 1962 to run an undergraduate programme in Geography. Since the late 1980s, the Department has been running postgraduate programmes. In the 1996/97 academic year, the programmes were expanded to include Tourism and Population and Family Life Education programmes. The name of the Department was subsequently changed to the Department of Geography and Tourism. In 2008, three Departments were created from the then Geography and Tourism namely, Geography and Regional Planning, Department of Population and Health and Department of Hospitality and Tourism Management.